Bandoneon

Sound Sample

The bandoneon is the instrument of the tango – developed and built in Germany, according to legend it was the price for certain services rendered in a brothel in Buenos Aires. From there it became the voice of disappointed immigrants, the voice of suffering, the voice of the tango.

The player who crouched and engrossed in himself is bent over the instrument is most likely thinking of the unimaginably complicated fingering system of the bandoneon.
This fingering system and not the instrument itself was patented by Heinrich Band from Krefeld, Germany and bears his name to improve its marketing.

Anyone who has just tried out the bandoneon might think that Heinrich Band put all the reeds into a bag, shook it up and fitted them at random. And then there is the difference in pitch with expansion and compression – usually that is.

My instrument, also from Victoria Accordions, uses the so-called French fingering system, chromatically arranged and the same with expansion and compression. If the accordion represents a beautiful, noble restaurant with fine cuisine and the best wines, then the bandoneon is a lost, earthy tavern with only one meal on offer and bad beer.

No instrument requires so much devotion as the bandoneon, but no instrument can express loneliness, roughness and sadness in this way.

Bandoneon

Hörbeispiel

Das Bandoneon ist das Instrument des Tango – in Deutschland entwickelt und gebaut gelangte es der Legende nach mit einem Matrosen in ein Bordell in Buenos Aires- als Preis für gewisse Liebesdienste. Von dort aus wurde es zur Stimme der enttäuschten Einwanderer, zur Stimme des Leides, zur Stimme des Tangos.

Der Spieler, der gebückt und in sich versunken über das Instrument gebeugt ist, denkt mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit über das unvorstellbar komplizierte Griffsystem des Bandoneons nach.
Dieses Griffsystem, und nicht das Instrument selbst, hat Heinrich Band aus Krefeld patentieren lassen und der besseren Vermarktung wegen nach seinem Namen benannt.

Wer das Bandoneon das erste Mal ausprobiert, könnte meinen, Heinrich Band habe alle Stimmzungen in einen Sack gesteckt, geschüttelt und nach dem Zufallsprinzip eingebaut. Dazu kommt noch, dass die Töne auf Zug und Druck verschieden sind - meistens.

Mein Instrument, ebenfalls von Victoria Accordions, verwendet die sogenannte französische Griffweise, chromatisch angeordnet und auf Zug und Druck gleich. Wenn das Akkordeon ein schönes, edles Restaurant mit feinem Essen und besten Weinen darstellt, ist das Bandoneon eine verlorene, derbe Kneipe mit nur einem Essen und schlechtem Bier.

Kein Instrument erfordert so viel Hingabe wie das Bandoneon, aber kein Instrument kann in dieser Weise Verlassenheit, Rohheit und Trauer ausdrücken.